来自JMB办公室的消息: 一个高价值的商业工具,还是知识产权的私生子?

以色列最近颁布了一部新的设计法,它将从现在起大约一年后生效。对一部新法律的需求已经存在很长时间了,因为当前的系统是基于 1924 年的《专利和设计法案》(简称《法案》)。如果说此次变革姗姗来迟,那是很客气的了。

那么是什么事情耗时如此之长? 当沉思这个问题时,我回想起自己参加的一次圆桌讨论,主题是关于国际设计注册的海牙体系。我估计这可能是大约 8 年前的事情了,在一次大型国际会议上,所有与会人员均赞同设计是“知识产权的一个私生子”这一观点。如果您看一看它在 IP 世界付出的时间,以整合其有关设计的法案;如果您对比一下有多少国家/地区属于 PCT 成员(马德里和海牙分别有多少);又或者考虑不同司法管辖区对于设计权利的巨大差异,过去这种感知也就不足为奇了(现在很大程度上仍然如此)。

诚然,专利(实用新型)和商标的注册量比设计要多得多,并且设计通常是靠边站,但这并不意味着它们没有价值或价值很小。在我自己从 1980 年代起的执业经历中,我们为我们的客户注册了大量的设计。确实,我们获得了大量更多的专利和商标。然而,设计注册似乎始终是一项有意为之的战术举措,通常构成一个大战略的一部分。虽然这是合理的,只要设计的力量得到赞赏,它就可以也应当更进一步。

在我们考察设计注册可能在何时成为一个高价值商业工具之前,我想分享一下我的一次专题讨论记忆,那是两年前我在东京 IPBC 会议上参加的。当时讨论的问题是“什么构成高价值的 IP 资产?”。其中一名小组成员指出,高价值专利是权利要求范围清晰的专利。我认为从这个立场,以及完全相反的立场来看都是合理的。

然而,如果有人认为清晰度将为实用新型专利赋予价值,为什么会这样? 当然,其中一个原因在于,如果一项专利的权利要求清晰地表达了该发明,则侵权指控就更容易证明。另外,我会争论,这种清晰度也属于某些商标的内在价值。例如,如果某第三方完全抄袭一个注册商标,并把它用于与该项注册详细说明的有关产品,显然这就构成了侵权情形。以此类推,一项清晰起草的专利权利要求应当使任何侵权情形都更容易证明!

现在,让我们以同样的逻辑来分析注册设计(包括工业设计和外观设计专利)。

对于设计权利属于有用的 IP 工具的一个批评是,根据定义,这类权利的范围非常狭窄。它们与某产品有关,而不是某实用新型专利,对某竞争性产品设计的相对细微的改变就足以避免侵权。与涵盖整个产品和服务类别的商标(特别是文字商标,可以采用一千种不同风格,但是每一种风格都将对该文字商标构成侵权)相反,外观设计专利太过于具体,因此无法拥有很大价值。

当然,这种反对意见通常是合理的。

但是……一个很大的但是……

在某些情形下,该批评不适用,它忽视了一个事实,即这种特殊性可能成为一项优势,并带来坚如磐石的权利。我们已为我们的鞋类、金刚石、手机、汽车和无数其他产品的客户在以色列、美国和众多其他司法管辖区获得了设计注册。一个它们统统都有的共同点就是它们都有价值,因为其具体的产品拥有价值。

如果您在产品设计中即使进行一些细微的改变(想想苹果对三星),或者甚至如果您仅仅迫使竞争对手重新设计他们对于您产品的自有版本,您在设计注册中的投资有什么潜在回报呢? 这可能难以估算,但回报可能非常非常高。

因此,下次当您考虑某产品(它可能是某专利发明的许多可能实施方案中公认的唯一产品,并可能明确持有一项注册商标)时,问问您自己以下问题:

针对您产品的设计注册能否形成一项高价值、高度具体、高度可操作的战术 IP 资产(这一切只需投资一项专利价格的一小部分)?

如果答案为“是”,那就去注册该设计!

因此,注册设计是不是 IP 的私生子呢? 我不这么认为。

**************************

如需了解有关新设计法的更多信息,请发送电子邮件给我(地址是 Jeremy.Ben-david@Jmbdavis.com),或者浏览本网站。

From the Desk of JMB: A High Value Business Tool or the Illegitimate Child of IP?

A new Designs Law has just been enacted in Israel, and is due to take effect in about one year from now. The need for a new law has existed for a long time, due to the current system being based on the Patents and Designs Ordinance (‘the Act’) of 1924. To say that this change is well overdue would be a gross understatement.

So what has taken so long? When pondering that question I recall a roundtable discussion that I attended on The Hague System of international design registration. I estimate that this was probably about 8 years ago, at one of the big international conferences, and all present agreed that designs were the “illegitimate child of IP.” If you look at the time it has taken for the IP world at large, to get its act together regarding designs; if you compare how many countries are members of the PCT, Madrid and Hague, respectively; and otherwise consider the huge differences between different jurisdictions when it comes to design rights, it’s hardly surprising that this was – and still is to a large degree – the perception.

While it is perfectly true that many more patents (utility) and trademarks are registered than designs, and that designs are often left by the wayside, this does not mean that they have no or little value. In my own experience in practice since the 1980’s, we have registered large numbers of designs for our clients. True, we have obtained vastly more patents and trademarks. However, design registration always seems to be a deliberate, tactical move, often forming part of a grand strategy. While this is legitimate, it is something that would and should be done even more, if only the power of designs was appreciated.

Before we take a look at when design registration may become a high value business tool, I’d like to share a memory of a panel discussion at the IPBC meeting in Tokyo two years ago. The question being discussed was “what constitutes high value IP assets?”. One of the panel members suggested that a high value patent is one whose claim scope is clear. I can see legitimacy both in that position, and in a position which is totally opposite.

However, if clarity is deemed by some to lend value to a utility patent, why is that? Surely one reason for this is that when a patent claim articulates the invention clearly, then an allegation of infringement is easier to prove. And, I would argue, that such clarity is also part of the value inherent in some trademarks. For example, if a third party copies a registered trademark exactly, and uses it in connection with goods specified in the registration, well that makes an infringement case as clear as could be. And by the same logic, a clearly drafted patent claim should make any infringement case easier to prove!

Now let’s apply the same logic to registered designs (including industrial designs and design patents).

One of the criticisms of design rights as a useful IP tool is that, by definition, such rights are very narrow. They relate to a product and, as opposed to a utility patent, a relatively minor change in the design of a competing product will be sufficient to avoid infringement. And as opposed to a trademark which covers entire classes of goods and services, and especially a word mark which can be styled in a thousand different ways, but each one will still infringe the word mark, a design patent is much too specific, and so cannot have much value.

That objection is, of course, often valid.

But…. and this is a big but…..

there are cases when that criticism is not applicable, and ignores the fact that such specificity can be an advantage, and can result in rock-solid rights. We have obtained design registrations for our clients for shoes, diamonds, cellphones, cars and countless other products, in Israel, the US and many other jurisdictions. The one thing that they all have in common is that they all have value, because the specific product has value.

If you change even something minor in the product design (think of Apple v. Samsung), or even if you merely force a competitor to redesign their own version of your product, what is the potential return on your investment in design registration? It may be difficult to estimate, but it can be very, very high.

Therefore, next time you’re thinking about products which admittedly may be only one of many possible implementations of a patented invention, and admittedly may carry a registered trademark, ask yourself the following question:

“Can design registration for your product result in a high value, highly specific, highly actionable, tactical IP asset, all for an investment which is a fraction of the price of a patent?”

If the answer is “yes”, then go ahead, and register that design!

So, are registered designs the Illegitimate Child of IP? I don’t think so.

**************************

For more information about the new Designs Law, write to me at Jeremy.Ben-david@Jmbdavis.com, or watch this space.

 

Show Comments

2 Thoughts on “From the Desk of JMB: A High Value Business Tool or the Illegitimate Child of IP?

    • Jeremy Ben-David  |  

      Dear Gregoire,
      Thank you for your kind words. By the way, the round-table discussion that I was referring to was one which you moderated, on the subject of Hague…
      I trust all is well.
      Best regard, Jeremy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *