以色列的新《设计法案》(亮点)

您的位置: 主页 » 以色列的新《设计法案》(亮点)
从此处下载 PDF:新的以色列设计法律

 

2018 年 8 月,新的《设计法案》 (5777-2017) (以下简称为:“《法案》”)将于以色列实施,以顺应强烈的呼声,取代已有 94 年之久的《专利与设计条例 》(1924)(以下简称为:“《条例》”),该《条例》直到现在仍是在以色列治理设计保护的法律。虽然《法案》将在以色列管控有关设计注册的一切事务,旧版《条例》仍将在很大范围内管控《法案》实施之前注册的设计。

该《法案》是对以色列设计治理法律进行的期待已久的、重大全面修订。虽然其某些方面仍然与《条例》类似,但也推出了若干关键法律和定义。下面是该《法案》的一些亮点,供执业者和设计人员熟悉,以了解新法律中所包含的内容:

产品的定义

新的术语“产品” (product) 取代了“物品” (article)。该《法案》的第 1 条对“产品”的定义是:“包含物品、包装、图形符号、屏幕显示…的集合”,并明确排除了字型(字体)和计算机程序

“独特特征”要求

《法案》要求有累积新颖性和单独特征,取代了之前的独立新颖性和原创性要求。(第 3 条)当一项设计对一名知情用户 (informed user) 产生的一般印象不同于之前的某项设计所产生的一般印象时,则该设计将被考虑为拥有一种“独特特征”。(第 7 条)

绝对/全球新颖性

如果一项设计与在优先日期之前在以色列或国外公布的某项设计有巨大差异,则它应当被考虑为新型设计,这是对《条例》条款的重大变更。(第 6 条)

保护期

2018 年 8 月 7 日当天或之后申请的设计将拥有 25 年的保护期,只要每五年支付续展费。

对现有注册延长期限

根据新的《法案》,处于 15 年注册期内的设计将有资格获得第四次为期 3 年的延长期限。延长期限必须于第三个 5 年延长期限期间提出申请,并于延长批准后立即支付费用。(《法案》第  113(2)(b) 条)。

未注册的设计可至多获得 3 年保护期。

一项具有新颖和单独特征的设计可作为一项未注册的设计获得为期三年的保护。该未注册的设计赋予其持有者这样的权利:防止他人制造复制其设计的产品,或防止他人制造的产品对知情用户所产生的总体印象类似于该设计的产品对象所产生的总体印象。(第 61、65 条)

12 个月宽限期

该《法案》提供 12 个月的宽限期,允许申请人在一项全新设计公布至多十二个月后申请对其注册。(第 64 条)

设计的所有者

设计的权利应当授予设计者。如果设计是由一名雇员在其任职期间或使用雇主的资源为雇主开发的,则其权利应当授予雇主,除非雇主与雇员之间另有协议约定。若设计是通过委托开发的,则该设计的权利授予委托开发该设计的人,除非当事方之间另有协议约定。(第 11-14 条)

海关

一项已注册设计的所有者可以按照正式流程要求,请求海关当局扣留可疑货物。此条款仅适用于进口商品,而不适用于供个人使用的物品。

设计的公布

满足所有正式要求后,申请将连同申请人提交的说明书一并公布在注册机构的网站上。

The New Design Act in Israel (Highlights)

You are here: Home » The New Design Act in Israel (Highlights)

Download PDF here: The New Israel Design Law

In August 2018, the new Design Act (5777-2017) (hereinafter: “the Act”) will be implemented in Israel, as a much-needed replacement to the 94-year-old Patents and Designs Ordinance (1924) (hereinafter: “the Ordinance”), which up until now was the law governing designs protection in Israel. While the Act will regulate all matters regarding the registration of designs in Israel, the old Ordinance will still largely regulate designs registered prior to implementation of the Act.

The Act constitutes a significant, long-awaited overhaul and revision to the laws governing Designs in Israel. While certain aspects remain similar to the Ordinance, several new key laws and definitions are have been introduced. Below are some highlights of the Act to familiarize both practitioners and designers alike as to what is included in the new law:

Definition of Product

The new term “product” replaces the term “article”. Article 1 of the Act defines “product” as “including set of articles, packaging, graphic symbol, screen displays…” Typefaces (fonts) and computer programs are specifically excluded

“Unique character” requirement

The Act requires a cumulative novelty and individual character, instead of the previously separated novelty and originality requirements. (Article 3) A design will be considered to possess a “unique character” when the general impression it creates on an informed user is different than the general impression created by a prior design. (Article 7)

Absolute/Global Novelty

In a major departure from the provisions of the Ordinance, a design shall be considered new if it substantially differs from a design that was published in Israel or abroad before the priority date. (Article 6)

Duration of Protection

Application for designs made on or after 7 August 2018 will have a 25-year duration, provided that five yearly renewal fees are paid.

Extension of Existing Registration

Under the new Act, Designs that are within their 15-year registration period will be eligible to receive a fourth extension period of 3-years. The extension must be requested during the third 5-year extension period and the fee paid upon approval of the extension. (Article 113(2)(b) of the Act).

Unregistered designs may receive protection for up to 3 years

A design having novel and individual characteristics may be protected as an unregistered design for a duration of three years. The unregistered design affords its proprietor the right to prevent others from manufacturing a product that copies the design or creates an overall impression on the informed user that is similar to the overall impression created by the product subject of the design. (Articles 61, 65)

12 month grace period

The Act provides a twelve-month grace period allowing an applicant to apply for the registration of a new design, up to twelve months after it is made public. (Article 64)

Owner of the design

The rights in the design shall be vested in the designer. Where the design is developed for an employer by an employee during his duties or while using the employer’s resources, the right shall be vested in the employer, except where otherwise agreed between the employee and the employer. In cases where the design is developed through commission, the rights to the design are vested in the person who commissioned the design, unless otherwise agreed by the parties. (Articles 11-14)

Customs

An owner of a registered design may request the Customs Authority to detain suspected goods, subject to formal procedural requirements. This provision applies only to imported commercial goods and not those for personal use.

Publication of design

After all formal requirements are fulfilled, the application is published on the Registrar’s website, along with the specification filed by the applicant.